Welcome to my world!

I thought I’d give this blogging thing a go… there are three things that occupy a lot of my time and interest, so they’re the subject of my blog.

1) Cats… namely ours! We have three kitties who very much rule the roost around here. Silver and Scout are sisters and they were adopted from the animal shelter right after we got married.That makes them going on for six now. They’re positively sedate, and they spend a lot of time lying in the sun or curled up in a box some place.
Our third feline, Tessie, adopted US. She’s a year or so younger than the other two, and while she has the body of a full-grown adult, she has the brain (and energy) of a kitten. Tessie loves to play, and one of her favourite games is chasey. She will chase anything that moves – balls, the laser pointer, her sisters… Silver will play with her on demand, but Scouty hates her.

Our fourth kitty isn’t actually ours… I am pathologically unable to ignore a cry for help, and Tommy Boy realised that and took advantage of it! I was feeding another kitty at the time (I thought Stripy Thing was a stray but he actually has a perfectly good home in the other building – he just likes to mooch!) and one day Tommy Boy smelled/saw/heard the food and came tearing up the stairs to get some. How could I possibly refuse such bravery? So he got his own bowl and he shows up for breakfast and dinner every day. He’s very much a feral and he doesn’t want to be touched or paid too much attention to, but he knows when it’s time to eat. And I’m happy to help him out… I will NOT turn any creature away from my door hungry if I have the means to help fill their belly.

2) My second interest is cooking. I’m not a gourmet cook… but I love good quality food made with real ingredients. I don’t use a lot of salt or additives in my food and store-bought or factory-made food tends to be disappointing, not worth the money, or plain dreadful. But I’m not a purist, and there are plenty of shortcuts that make my life simpler without spoiling the end product. I’m not ashamed to use a store-bought pizza crust… but it’s going to be topped with fresh vegetables (for me) and pepperoni (for John). I don’t use a lot of formal recipes in my cooking… cooking is mostly a mix of intuition and experience. I helped my mother with the baking from the time I was very young, and I took over cooking the family dinners when I was thirteen, so I’ve got plenty of experience under my belt! I love to look at recipe books and to get new ideas from them, but most of the stuff I actually make comes from my gut. Sometimes it works… and sometimes it doesn’t, but that’s just the way life is. I celebrate the successes and pull the rug over the failures and move on. And there are very few nights when we have to turn to pizza! 😛

3) My third interest is crafts. I’ve toyed with scrapbooking (both paper and digital), cross-stitch and various other crafts, but my real love is making things from paper. I did scrapbooking for quite a few years, but it gets to be a very expensive hobby very quickly. After we were married I settled on cards because they’re quick, easy, inexpensive, and useful. I love being able to produce a result fairly quickly and then to give it to someone else and pass on the joy. I make cards for our church and I make cards for the Cards for Heroes project. Cards for Heroes collects handmade greeting cards, collates them into boxes, and ships them off to the troops overseas so they can keep in touch with their families. CFH also collects ‘hero cards’ with notes, letters etc in them so that the heroes can be encouraged as well… it’s got to be mighty tough to be away from your family and loved ones for so long, and they need all the encouragement they can get!

4) I know I said I had three interests… but there are actually four. My last interest, which probably won’t get as much airtime here because it’s very personal and more a subject for my private diary, is church… I’ve been a Christian since I was fifteen, and while I’ve had an on-again-off-again relationship with the church itself and sometimes I’ve gone for months at a time without setting foot in the church door, my faith is a central part of my life. I don’t believe in sitting here and telling other people what to do or believe. So don’t expect to be lectured at… but I wouldn’t be me without God.

And that’s me in a nutshell… I’ll get some photos in here when I figure out how to do it. I’ve never had a blog before so it’s all new to me! I hope you’ll stick around for the journey…

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Welcome to my world!”

  1. Les Says:

    Looks nice! When the pictures are added it will be first-rate! Congratulations.

  2. thedarwinexception Says:

    Glad to see you blogging! I can’t wait to see pics of your crafts (I kind of like crafty stuff, but you knew that….)

    Kim

  3. HRFL Tiger Says:

    Glad to see that someone is waay more technically aware than me! The girls look fab and I can’t wait to see pictures of your crafts! 🙂

    Helen M

Leave a Reply

