Saturday dinner – pork with rice and beans

We went to the grocery store today and I spent $80 on food and a few toiletries. I haven’t bought cat supplies yet and we still need a few more things ourselves. I got a pair of chickens for 69c a pound. I was going to cook them tonight but they’re frozen solid, and their giblets are sealed in plastic inside them! So I put them in the fridge to thaw and I’ll roast them tomorrow. Instead we had the pork I’d planned to cook on Monday.

I made pork with rice and beans a few weeks ago and it came out very good so I made it again tonight. Alas it wasn’t nearly as nice this time round – I cooked the beans in with the rice to make sure they were soft, and the rice got a little overcooked and by the time I’d mixed everything together and seasoned it up it was on the gluey side. I think I’ll make the leftovers into rice cakes/balls and fry them. Or try to anyway…

Costing/Ingredients

  • 1/2lb boneless pork chop, sliced finely $1.50 ($3/lb)
  • 1 onion
  • 1 cup white rice
  • 1 can pinto beans, rinsed well 60c (Walmart store brand was a bargain!)
  • 1 stick celery ($2/bunch…)
  • sliced carrot ($1/lb)
  • 1 cup frozen peas (for me)
  • Assorted spices from our pantry
Leave a Reply

